jump to navigation

MRS DARCY AND THE BLUE-EYED STRANGER By Lee Smith June 1, 2011

Posted by lycan librarian in book reviews, Books and reading.
trackback

I had heard good things about this author and collection. When I brought it home and got through the first two stories, I almost returned it to the library. Then I read the third, and was hooked. There were a few others I wasn’t really crazy about, but the ones I did like made such a big impression on me that it was worth struggling through the others to get to them.

Lee Smith is compared to Flannery O’Connor, Eudora Welty, Carson McCullers, Harper Lee and Katherine Ann Porter, probably because of her Southern roots. I’m not sure I’d put her in the same class as those writers, but the book is good, and short stories are harder to write than people realize. She is a prolific writer with a dozen novels, two nonfiction selections and three other short story collections under her belt, so perhaps I shouldn’t be judging her on only one book. Next family trip I take down to Florida, I will make sure I have a couple of her books in hand, because they would be the perfect reading material while in that ” hot Southern atmosphere.” If you are looking for a short story collection that is definitely for women, you may like this one. Especially if you of the age where your children are grown.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

