jump to navigation

DOUBLE YOLK EGGS October 20, 2012

Posted by lycan librarian in Uncategorized.
trackback

        Superstitions abound in all areas of our lives, and a rare occurence like a double yolk egg is supposed to be a portend of good fortune. Friends of ours began raising chickens this year and they sent over some eggs. The very first one I cracked had two beautiful golden yolks. So I’m calling out the gods of luck to send me my happy reward. If I were a high ruling entity I would enjoy sending these twin orbs out to bless the days of bakers, egg-eaters and breakfast makers. It seems such a lofty sign, as eggs are locked up so tightly, so chancing upon anything unusual when the seal is broken seems both fun and magical. Especially this time of year when magic is all around us, at every spin of a fallen leaf and in each blustery gale of wind. So off I go into my afternoon with high hopes for all good things. If this is an unfounded superstition, then I guess both yolks are on me. (Go ahead – groan. I groaned myself as I typed that.)

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

